Skip to content

The Ninja v. Pirate Dilemma

September 1, 2010

I find surfing the ‘net a brilliant way to waste time and it provides me great inspiration. I love to read blogs by people who are far more artistic, talented, and skilled than myself. Sometimes this requires my brain to process their words, and this can hurt in the evening after a long day of reading for my job. To provide entertainment without thought I go to Flickr. Yah, baby! Flickr is my new mind candy.

So one night in the not-too-distant past I am mindlessly surfing when I come across these incredible images made for embroidering the days of the week on your kitchen towels. And these were no retro or vintage images either (which I love, but these were so cool!). These were “Domestic Ninjas” created by the talented gals at SiblingCraftery.com. Freakin’ awesome! I knew I had to make one for my sister as a housewarming gift.

Rather than embroidering I decided to use my new fabric pens to see how well they performed. I used this image for the first towel.

Domestic Ninja Towel

I thought it looked really sweet. Then {boom,boom,boom} I was in a dilemma.

When the age-old question of Pirate v. Ninja is asked I know my sister’s answer is always – Pirate! How would I explain a gift of a ninja?

Using another image from the same set as inspiration I redrew it into a Domestic Pirate.

As everyone knows, all pirates must have a bottle of rum, an eyepatch, and an anchor tattoo. And forget the ruffles on the apron. We don’t need no stinkin’ ruffles, arg. I also thought the text needed to be a different font so I adjusted that as well. The gift was well received and the fabric ink seems to be holding up well.

On a final note, join us in celebrating my third favorite day of the year – Talk Like a Pirate Day on Sept. 19th. I promise to answer my phone all day with pirattitude. How about you? Arrrggggh.

~ Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 6:03 PM

    The Domestic Ninja and Domestic Pirate towels are holding up nicely! The color is still good. They are GREAT for drying dishes because they leave little if any lint behind.

    Thank you, Amy!

    ~Erin

  2. September 14, 2010 8:36 AM

    AWESOME! I love how you made her into a pirate! Argghhh! 🙂 Great job and thanks so much for using my patterns. Just brings a smile to my face! 🙂

Leave a Reply

